Archive for the ‘History’ Category

Dr Williams’ Memories

Many older residents in the area will remember Dr Williams, who was one of the GPs based at Hartington from the mid-1950s until the mid-1980s. He has recorded a variety of early memories from his time in the area, which the Hartington History Group has re-produced in pamphlet form for sale at £1, with the proceeds going to Hartington Community Group funds. Copies can be obtained directly from Sue Bruce at Hartington Post Office, or if anyone in Parwich would like a supply of, say, 10 copies to distribute locally please contact me, Richard Gregory, on rg3390717@gmail.com or 01298 84368.

Read Full Post »

IMG_1086

Starbucks?

Many residents will be familiar with the Limestone Way that traverses through Parwich but few will realise that 2020 will mark the 50th anniversary of its formal adoption as a long distance walking route. Much of the path has been used for 100s of years but it was only in 1970 that the route gained recognition as a long distance path. The trend to recognise such paths gave rise to the formation of the LDWA (Long Distance Walkers Association) in 1972. To mark the 50th anniversary of the path the LDWA have been looking for ways improve the walker experience and facilities along the route. As you are no doubt aware the recent activity by OpenReach around the area has resulted in upgrades to cabling into the village with fibre optics, FTTC and FTTP technologies and the new GFast making the old telephone exchange obsolete. BT and OpenReach estimate that the exchange will no longer be needed from late 2019. This has presented the LDWA in partnership with the National Park, Derby Dales and Staffordshire Moorlands councils the opportunity to provide a much needed new facility along the Limestone Way without the need for new building work in a conservation area. According to information on display in the National Park office in Bakewell the telephone exchange will be converted into an information centre providing an exhibition of the history of the limestone way, a small franchised coffee shop and ladies/gents toilet facilities. The latter particularly important for the large number of young families and older ramblers passing through the village since the closure of the public facilities on Creamery Lane.
There are also plans to involve villages along the route in celebratory events throughout 2020.

Read Full Post »

One Remembered Today

Many thanks to Karen Watson who brought this article from the ANT to our attention.

thomas hadfieldthomas hadfield. 1JPG

Read Full Post »

The Wonders of the Peak

Derbyshire County Council has sent the following information:

Buxton Museum and Art Gallery launches Wonders of the Peak
A brand new gallery and digital experience is set to open at our Buxton Museum and Art Gallery.

Wonders of the Peak − a journey through time and place − houses the museum’s collection of 1,200 Peak District artefacts collected over 125 years. The Wonder of the Peak website (opens in a new window) allows people to explore the collection digitally while visiting the Peak District, or from the comfort of their own home, or the library, using their smartphone, tablet or computer.
More than 75 volunteers were instrumental in the project. Their contribution included testing the digital content, collecting oral histories, laying out new displays and conserving and documenting artefacts. (more…)

Read Full Post »

In the News……..

125 Years Ago 

22 July 1892 Derbyshire Advertiser and Journal

1892 Jul 22 DA&J

23 July 1892 Derbyshire Times and Chesterfield Herald

1892 July 23 Dernys Times & C'field

There isn’t a Dakin living in the Parwich part of Pikehall in 1891. Does anyone recognise the property from the description of the lake?

30 July 1892 Liverpool Mercury

1892 Jul 30 L'Pool Mercury

Advertised in the Country and Seaside Apartments section of the paper. Judging by the number of servants in the Smith household in 1891 I suspect they may have lived in Alsop Hall. Could this then be Manor Farm house?

Not in the News……. Parwich Cricket Team 30 years Ago. July 1987

Can you name these stalwart players?

CCI16072017 (2)

 

Read Full Post »

In the News……

100 Years Ago

Derbyshire Advertiser 22 June 1917

1917 22 Jun Derbys Ad Twigge duck

Although no-one would want to see cruelty to a duck it does seem surreal that while many young men were being slaughtered in France, a case of cruelty to a duck is being taken to court back home. Although James Twigge is not an uncommon name at that time, it is likely to be the James Twigge who later farmed with his brother Ernest at Station Road Farm.  George Slater was the postman (with one arm) who was living in Shaw Lane in 1911 and then lived in the one up one down house in The Square . Frank Gibbs is likely to be the uncle to Len Gibbs of Lenscliffe and Mary Ellen Rodgers the wife of George Herbert Rodgers who many will know kept the greengrocers at Mount Pleasant.

For more news (more…)

Read Full Post »

In the News…..Is this Wakes?

1814 Swindell Wakes Alsop1814 Swindell Wakes Alsop 2

Read Full Post »

Older Posts »

%d bloggers like this: